If you are charged with Driving Under the Influence of either alcohol or drugs (DUI), you likely have some questions. That’s understandable. Most people do not need to learn about the DUI conviction process unless they are facing charges. Now that you are facing charges, it is a good idea to learn as much as you can about what’s to come.
Here are some of the most common questions people ask their San Diego DUI lawyers, along with the answers. Of course, the best way to ensure all your questions are answered is to contact a top San Diego DUI attorney like Peter M. Liss. Free consultations are available, please call (858) 486-3024 to schedule an appointment today.
What, exactly, is a “DUI?”
A “DUI charge” is generally actually made up of two charges: “driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol (or both)” and “driving with a blood alcohol level of .08 or higher.” Both offenses carry the same penalties and you cannot be convicted for both charges. Each time you are convicted for a DUI within a ten year span, the punishment will become increasingly severe and subsequent offenses will often include massive fines and lengthy jail or prison sentences.
When will a police officer revoke my driver’s license after I get a DUI?
When you have been arrested for driving under the influence, the police officer will usually take away your driver’s license if you have refused a chemical sobriety test, failed the test, or if you have been chemically tested for driving under the influence, but the results cannot yet be analyzed and will not be available until a later date or time.
When the officer takes your license, he will then gives you a pink piece of paper that will serve as a notice of your license suspension and as a temporary license for you to use over the next month. If you are not a California resident, the police cannot actually take your license, but if you do not request a DMV hearing within 10 days, you will still lose your driving privileges within the state of California 30 days after your arrest.
If my license was suspended, what should I do next?
As soon as possible, you should call a DUI lawyer in San Diego. If you want to fight the automatic license suspension, you only have 10 days to file for a hearing with the DMV. If you or your San Diego DUI attorney do not call within the next ten days, your license will be suspended for four months and you will not be able to fight this action.
If your hearing is scheduled more than 30 days after the date of your arrest, your San Diego DUI lawyer can arrange for your temporary pink license to be extended beyond the initial 30 day period.
If you or a loved one has been arrested for drunk driving, please schedule a free initial consultation with Peter M. Liss by calling (760) 643-4050 or (858) 486-3024.
Creative Commons Image by Horia Varlan