LSD, a.k.a. lysergic acid diethylamide, or acid, is one of the most popular and famous hallucinogenic drugs in America. It’s also illegal at both national and state levels and possession of the substance can leave you facing serious penalties, particularly if you are accused of possessing the drug for the purposes of selling it. If you are facing LSD charges in California, please call an Oceanside drug defense attorney as soon as possible.
LSD Possession Vs. Possession for Sale
Like cocaine, there is no set amount of acid that determines whether a person is in possession of LSD for purposes of personal use or for sale. That means that it will be up to the prosecutor to determine if the amount you were in possession of was for your own use or not and in many cases, an Oceanside drug defense attorney can convince the prosecutor to file possession rather than sales charges. Of course, because acid is very strong, not addictive and cannot be used on a daily basis, the amount that can be considered to be too much for personal use is much smaller than the amount required to meet this standard for most other drugs. This means possession for sale is one of the more common LSD charges in California.
Penalties for Possession of Acid Charges in California
Possession for personal use of LSD is a misdemeanor in California, punishable by up to one year in jail and $10,000 in fines. You could face felony charges and increased penalties if you have previously been convicted of a sex crime requiring registration on the sex offender list or a violent crime. If you’re facing felony charges as a result of these prior convictions, you could face three years in prison.
If you are facing misdemeanor possession of LSD charges in California, your Oceanside drug defense attorney may be able to help you enter a diversion program, which will help you keep the offense off of your record.
LSD Possession for Sale Charges
If the prosecution determines you are in possession of more than a personal quantity of the drug, you could face felony drug sales charges. In this case, you could be sentenced to up to three years in prison and face up to $20,000 in fines.
If you have been accused of any type of crime related to the use or possession of lysergic acid diethylamide, please call Oceanside drug defense attorney Peter M. Liss as soon as possible. You can schedule a free initial consultation by calling (760) 643-4050.
Image by aitoff